Patient Reviews

Reviews for Cataract & Refractive Institute of Florida

Seasoned ophthalmologist Dr. James E. Croley III has over 40 years of industry experience and specialty training in the diagnosis and treatment of vision disorders and common eye conditions. Since he was a young boy, he dreamed about becoming an eye doctor to help restore the vision and ocular health of others. He has dedicated his life to becoming one of the best eye care professionals in the country and is honored to be serving men and women across the Southwest Florida area. We invite you to read through our patient reviews to learn more about Dr. Croley and the gold-standard care you can expect to receive when you visit the Cataract & Refractive Institute of Florida.

Filter91 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 25, 2020

I had a very thorough eye exam with Dr Croley. He is very honest and does not try to "sell" you any procedure that you do not need. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 23, 2020

Doc C and his staff are “the best!” More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

I think Dr. Croley is the best eye Dr. I have ever had. He is very professional and perfect in every way. I wouldn’t even consider any other eye Doctor. He is truly the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

Dr. Croley is very trustworthy More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 11, 2020

Always a pleasure in coming for my appointment. The staff are always so courteous, A CARING OFFICE! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 04, 2020

Dr. Croley is very professional and thorough and explains clearly diagnoses and treatment. I am very pleased with my vision after my cataract surgeries and have complete confidence that I will continue to benefit from his care. His office staff are also very knowledgable, friendly, and office visits are organized so that time is well spent for staff as well as patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 21, 2020

Follow up YAG laser treatment of cloudy lens capsule post cataract surgery. Original cataract excision excellent with vision correction exceeding expectations. YAG laser treatment produced almost immediate improvement. Dr. Croley provided high quality surgical solution and Covid 19 protections. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 14, 2020

Dr Croley does great work with great results. He is prompt ,efficient and personable. He recently did a YAG procedure on my right eye which was absolutely effective. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 12, 2020

Dr. Crowley and Staff. Thank you so much once again for your kindness, empathy and speed of service. You as always took my concerns seriously and made arrangements for next steps quickly and efficiently. Your staff is friendly and treat patients like family. I think you do a great job and will remain your patient for years to come! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 02, 2020

The office is effcient and friendly. Dr. Crowley and assistants very knowledgeable and answered all questions so I understood. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 22, 2020

Really grateful for the professionalism and ‘human side’ of the office staff. When I walked into the office to deal with my eye redness, I did not know it was a case of severe dry eye. I was put at ease by Dr. Croley and began his recommendations for relief. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

I have been a patient for several years and always pleased with the staff’s professionalism. Dr. Croley is very competent and accommodating. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

Have been a patient for 22 years with the Doctor I appreciate having one Doctor that knows the health of my eyes and has cared for the health of my eyes! Having had several elected and some needed surgeries over the years, I cound not be more pleased! The office staff are very competent in assisting with insurance and scheduling, streamlining the whole experience. Before finding Dr. Crowley I had been to several local doctors where we spent half the day in waiting rooms only to be seen by several med. students practicing on my families eyes, to be seen for a few minutes by the advertised doctor....no thank you. Happy patient! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 28, 2020

I am happy to review the practice of Dr. Crowley and his staff.They are all professional but still friendly and makes you feel at ease. I especially like the fact that Dr. Crowley does not try to pressure you into having procedures that are not necessary for you and he is always ready to answer honestly any questions you have. I would not hesitate to recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 25, 2020

Removed my cataracts, and corrected my vision to 20/20. Everything was done in a friendly and professional manner. If you need vision care, this is the place to get it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 13, 2020

My eyes feel so much better since being treated by Dr Croley. I had been complaining for many years (9 maybe?) but my symptoms just got worse & worse , often blamed on various other issue. On my very first appointment, he really listened & did testing right away. Diagnosed the problem & ordered treatment with check up's to monitor the effectiveness of my treatment. This was also impressive. 6 months later, my eyes feel much better!My only regret? The other eye doctors didn't investigate my sympyoms more & correct this years ago. Highly recommend this doctor. 2 thumbs up! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 10, 2020

your office is always very professional and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 10, 2020

Have been a patient for 22 years with the Doctor I appreciate having one Doctor that knows the health of my eyes and has cared for the health of my eyes! Having had several elected and some needed surgeries over the years, I cound not be more pleased!The office staff are very competent in assisting with insurance and scheduling, streamlining the whole experience.Before finding Dr. Crowley I had been to several local doctors where we spent half the day in waiting rooms only to be seen by several med. students practicing on my families eyes, to be seen for a few minutes by the advertised doctor....no thank you.Happy patient! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 28, 2019

I have used Dr Croley as my eye dr for many years ! He is kind and caring and a perfectionist in his work! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 16, 2019

I've been a patient for 17 years. I highly recommend Dr. Croley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2019

Everyone was very helpful & friendly. Every appointment I went for was a pleasant experience. After I arrived it was only about 5 minutes when I was called into the exam room. Dr. Croley explained what was needed to do & gave me options. No pressure at all to do anything. Felt very comfortable in making a decision.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 09, 2019

I have used Dr Croley as my eye dr for many years ! He is kind and caring and a perfectionist in his work! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 02, 2019

Been a patient of Dr. Croley for 14 years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 02, 2019

Great care! My eyesight is in excellent hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 02, 2019

Very pleased with the way I am treated. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 23, 2019

As usual, professionally handled exactly to expectations. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 14, 2019

Just moved to Cape Coral and needed to continue having my eyes monitored. Dr. Croley came highly recommended, He did not disappoint and after my first visit this week. I look forward him caring for my eyes for years to come. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 14, 2019

Great experience with Cataract surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 13, 2019

Dr. Croley and Staff are wonderful. I Recommend Dr Corley to others. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2019

Dr Croley is such an honest Christian doctor you can trust. Has had many second opinions come to him who said they needed cataract surgery when they did NOT. Is so sad other doctors taking advantage of elderly. So please see Dr Croley first. I wasn’t pushed into needing anything other than him saying keep using eye drops for my dry eye and I have very slight cataracts that do not need correcting yet or at all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 05, 2019

Expert in his profession and he interacts very well More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 30, 2019

Wonderful experience with a warm and caring staff who administered very through eye prep tests, and Dr. Croley was very professional and informative in his assessment after conducting his personal examination. Happy first timer who will be returning In a year !! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2019

Excellent service by both staff and Dr.Croley l felt Dr. Croley did a great job on my cataracts and being a barber seeing good helps a lot. I was surprised l was able to go to work the next day and how great my eyesight was. There is something special about having a well staffed practice and not dealing with a huge group of Drs.  I highly recomend Dr.Croley for your eye care by a very knowledgeable Dr. and Staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 26, 2019

I had a wonderful experience! Not only did I get a quick appointment but the staff was amazingly kind, considerate and knowledgeable. The Dr was very informative and had great patience with me ( being such a baby) he performed the procedure as explaining each step to calm me. He was gentle was quick . I highly recommend this office!! Also his rates are extremely fair being I am a cash pay. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 26, 2019

I received a thoroughly good consultation withGood recommendations and a willingness to improve my condition. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 26, 2019

I have been a patient of Dr Croley for several years and have found him to be a caring and thoughtful physician. He listens and offers alternatives, his office staff is friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Dr Croley. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 02, 2019

The staff are AWESOME got me worked in was professional, office beautiful and Doctor knowledgeable and EXCELLENT my husband is a patient there also who had me go there. Good eat experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 27, 2019

Excellent doctor with a professional and friendly staff. Always a great experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 19, 2019

Dr. Corley was wonderful as usual More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 13, 2019

Knowledgeable, friendly, good advice, patient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 12, 2019

Experience was super good; great More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

This was my first time going to an eye doctor in 20 years. The staff (office and Dr assistants) we professional, cheerful and helpful.They took time to answer my questions, and I had a few.The Dr. Was professional with a great bedside manner (but with eyes).He answered all my questions even when he had to turn back on the equipment to look at my concerns.I definitely would reccomend this Dr., staff and office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Great staff and very professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

I’m totally treated like gold and fine China with everyone at Dr. Crowley’s.. I adore everyone thereBekki More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

At first I was concerned with taking my daughter here as she is special needs, but they were quickly able to adjust and give her a thorough eye exam. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Prompt, friendly, professional. I am extremely glad I found Dr. Croley and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

Felt my welfare was their main goal . Was told what my problem was and solutions available to me. Also was most affordable as Medicare doesn’t cover everything even with a coinsurance. I felt I was in good hands. The optician had free frames available! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 28, 2019

Great staff and very professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

Very professional and great people work there they will address any problems you have and take care of it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

I've been a patient of Dr Croley for more than 10 years. He's an amazing opthamologist with a straight forward attitude. Very comfortable with his results and his findings. His staff is friendly as well as professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

Very friendly staff. Dr. Croley took the time to explain everything. I was in for the first time for just a routine exam, but was made to feel very comfortable. I recommend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

I have been a patient for several years and always pleased with the staff’s professionalism. Dr. Croley is very competent and accommodating. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

Dr Crowley and his excellent staff gave me confidence and a wonderful overall positive experience. I can't praise them enough.Ken Westall More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 04, 2019

Referred by my primary care physician and expected to not get an appointment as quickly as I did. Both my wife and myself had back to back appointments which made it quite convenient. Staff was pleasant and professional. Short wait to see tech. and Dr.. He made everything understandable and very helpful. Both my wife & self were taken in together to see Dr.. Both of us were very satisfied with Dr. and staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 04, 2019

Friendly staff and highly knowledgable Optomologist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 04, 2019

Excellent competent service. Reception staff very friendly and relaxed. Dr. Crowly's exam excellent. Went the second mile to confirm and demonstrate condition More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.U.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 04, 2019

Dr. Croley and his staff are the best!!!Very professional, courteous, and timely! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2019

Dr. Crowley is very professional and extremely knowledgeable about everything in his field. He gave me perfect sight in my left eye after a cateract almost blinded me very quickly and I still see 20/15in that eye. Am going in for the right eye soon and trust Dr. Crowley and his whole team completely ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.N.  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2019

Dr. Croley & his entire staff are the best! I was able to get an appointment quickly for some disturbing symptoms in my left eye. My reception at the office was welcoming & professional; I was relieved & knew I was in good hands. Dr. Croley quickly diagnosed my issue & prescribed meds. I have had improvements right away & will be all better in another week. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2019

Staff friendly and efficient. Office area very nice without being over the top. Dr Crowley was efficient, complete and to the point More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W...  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2019

Dr. Crowley is very professional and extremely knowledgeable about everything in his field. He gave me perfect sight in my left eye after a cateract almost blinded me very quickly and I still see 20/15in that eye. Am going in for the right eye soon and trust Dr. Crowley and his whole team completely ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  May 04, 2019

Very professional. Would recommend to everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 04, 2019

Everyone is very helpful and courtious. Dr is great. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 04, 2019

First time here, will never go anywhere else! The very best eye doctor I’ve ever been to. Everyone was very happy and so eager to make your visit the best! I’m so happy I was recommenced to come here. Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Very friendly and would definitely come back!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

I had a wonderful experience at my appointment. Everyone was so nice and kind. Would recommend to anyone needing eye help. Thank you to all of the staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Everyone was so nice yet professional. Told my daughter when I got home. Before I had felt pressured by by a well known Dr in town and he wanted lots of money for numerous extra that he convinced me I needed. Went on wearing glasses now after going here I'm ready. They made me feel comfortable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 04, 2019

Dr. Crowley is very professional and knowledgeable. He shows great concern for his patients and gives a very detailed explanation about the condition and the steps needed to correct the problem. He doesn't appear to.hold anything back. He gives you the information and you make the decision as to how to move forward no pressure no BS. I could not be more pleased with him. I only wish that more doctors were as straight forward as he is. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2019

Everyone was very pleasant and professional. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2019

Excellent help took care of problem. Time for update & remodel exam rooms. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2019

I always have a positive visit.The staff are efficient and friendly. The Dr is always pleasant and desires to help you with your vision problems. It is hard to find a caring doctor that gives excellent solutions to your medical problems. Thanks. Nancy Stanley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 04, 2019

Great job, everybody cordial and professional. Thanked technician for explaining additional charge, that I could decline and I did. That's never happened to me before. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 04, 2019

The service was excellent. Scheduling,paperwork, clinic assistants, and Dr Crawley were courteous and efficient. This is A+ eye care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 04, 2019

Everyone in the office is so friendly and efficent. Dr Crowley has been taking care of me and my eye for last 15 years or so and is the best for your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 04, 2019

Dr and office staff are very efficient and well organized. I am very impressed withthe skill level of the doctor and his carring and compassionate manners. You must visit this doctor first. He saved my wife’s vision in her left eye. She is only 45. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2018

Very pleasant experience . Office is clean and pleasant. I never have to wait very long.Dr. Croley is very pleasant and answers all my questions. The staff are all very nice and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2018

From the very first visit to my first cataract surgery Dr Croley and his staff have been totally courteous, caring and professional. It was a real plus to see Dr Croley for each doctor appointment and not see different doctors for each thing. The surgery results have been nothing short of amazing — better than my best expectations. I’m literally counting down the days until my other eye gets its new lens. I unreservedly recommend Dr Croley for total eye care!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2018

I found everyone I had contact with were very professional and caring. My surgery was flawless and my sight is better then ever. I want to thank everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2018

C & RI did a good job removing cataracts in both of my eyes...replacing them with much needed corrective lenses. I can see much better now. Thank you Dr. Croley & Staff ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2018

I have been going to Dr. Croley for approximately 18 years and I've always felt as though I had the best eye care available. The staff is friendly, and rarely do I have to wait more than a few minutes to be seen. I recommend Dr. Croley:s office highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2018

Been going here since 1990. Always receive excellent service. Staff is very pleasant and conscientious. Have never had a problem at the Lehigh office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2018

Everyone in the office was very nice and professional More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2018

We have found our new home for eye care! We had need of urgent care this morning and fortunately we were able to see the doctor right away. Thank you Kathy, Bridgette and Dr Croley for fast, friendly, quality medical care; we truly appreciate you all. The Robinson's More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 15, 2018

The staff is friendly, they make you feel comfortable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 15, 2018

I am very pleased and satisfied with the surgery which Doctor Croley performed on both my eyes about 10 or 11 months ago. I had cataracts removed and had premium toric lens inserted which now allow me to see in the distance and for reading without glasses. Dr. Croley is very friendly and professional and I would highly recommend him to anyone for any eye care or problems. I went to him for a second opinion and quickly realized I should have gone to him for the first opinion! I trust him 100%! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 17, 2018

Dr. Croley and both his office and professional staff are exceptional in terms of their knowledge, professionalism and empathy. He has treated my wife and I for over 10 years for routine visual care as well as glaucoma and cataracts. We have zero reservations in recommending this practice for all things visual.u More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 04, 2017

Best eye doctor in Southwest Florida! Eye Centers of Florida tried to sell me an expensive cataract surgery I did not need. I do not even have cataracts! Dr. Croley provided me with a new prescription eye glasses that solved the problem. This man is honest and knows what he is doing. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 31, 2017

Excellent and very helpful staff in a stressful situation....excellent care and concern for the patient. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 25, 2017

Clean and excellent diagnosis. Dr saved me from Macular Degeneration. I'd recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 19, 2017

I feel very confident with Dr. Croley More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 18, 2017

Excellent Doctor, extremely knowledgeable. I felt confident and comfortable in his medical opinion regarding my extremely dry eye condition. Thank you Dr. Croley and staff! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.